In addition to the City’s one maintained primary school, the City of London Corporation is proprietor of three independent schools, is sponsor/co-sponsor of four academies in neighbouring boroughs, and has been approved to move to the pre-opening stage for two new primary academies in Southwark and Islington, opening in 2016 and 2017 respectively (see Box 6).

Box 6: City of London sponsored/co-sponsored schools

Independent schools

  • City of London School
  • City of London School for Girls
  • City of London Freemen’s School

Sponsored academies

  • The City Academy, Hackney (co-sponsored with KPMG)
  • The City of London Academy Islington (co-sponsored with City University)
  • The City of London Academy, Southwark (sole sponsor)
  • Redriff Primary School (sole sponsor)

Academies in ‘pre-opening’

  • Galleywall Primary City of London Academy (opening September 2016)
  • City of London Primary Academy Islington (opening September 2017)